If you have been charged for a ride that you did not take then there could be multiple reasons for this.
Please view the following options below to see which is most relevant to your situation:
I attempted to order a ride but did not complete / cancelled my booking
- When you press ‘order’ to book a ride with FREE NOW, we will ‘pre-authorise’ your payment method.
- A pre-authorisation is a temporary hold of funds on your bank account or credit card.
- This is used to ensure that the payment method is valid, and that there are sufficient funds available to pay for the service requested. Find our more about pre-authorisations here.
- If the ride is cancelled, we will release the pre-authorisation within 30 minutes.
- However, it may take longer for the funds to become available in your account. The exact length of time depends on your bank.
- Please note, in some cases when you cancel a ride, you may be charged a cancellation fee. You can find our more here.
I never ordered the ride with FREE NOW
If you have been charged for a booking which you did not make, and believe that the transaction is fraudlent, please take the following steps:
- Change the password to your FREE NOW account - head to the profile section of your app and select 'Change Password'
- Contact FREE NOW Passenger Care so that we can investigate the transaction - from the profile section of the app, select 'Help & Contact.
- Consider placing a freeze or a block on your payment card - we suggest you contact your bank to do this