Once you tap the ‘order’ button, FREE NOW may perform a pre-authorisation - also known as a temporary hold. This is done before a driver is allocated, so that a driver isn’t allocated a trip that then gets cancelled due to a failed pre-authorisation.
Where a trip is cancelled, we automatically request that your payment provider release the temporary hold - depending on the provider/bank this can take a number of days.
If the temporary hold hasn’t been released, and is not available in your account after 7 days, you’ll need to contact your provider/bank.
If you'd like to know more about how pre-authorisations work, please check out our pre-authorisation/pending transaction FAQs.