We're sorry to hear you have been charged for a trip you did not take. There could be various reasons as to why. We suggest reviewing the following options below to see which is most relevant to your situation:
I attempted to order a ride but did not complete/cancelled my booking
When a vehicle is ordered via the FREE NOW app, FREE NOW pre-authorise your payment method to check there are sufficient funds available to pay for the service requested. A pre-authorisation is a temporary hold of funds on your bank account or credit card.
If a trip is cancelled, the pre-authorisation is released within 15 minutes however it may take longer for the funds to be available in your account. This is completely dependent on your bank. For more information regarding pre-authorisations, please review the following article.
Please note that in some cases when you cancel a trip, you may be charged a cancellation fee. For more information regarding cancellation fees, please review the follow article.
I never ordered the ride with FREE NOW
If you have been charged for a trip you did not make and believe the transaction to be fraudulent, please take the following steps:
Step One: Change the password to your FREE NOW account. For more information regarding changing your password, please review the following article.
Step Two: Contact FREE NOW Passenger Care by submitting a request here.
Step Three: Consider placing a freeze or a block on your payment card - we suggest you contact your bank in order to do this.